Town of Columbia, NH

The Town of Columbia is a small town in Coos County located in scenic northern New Hampshire. We are bordered on the south by the Town of North Stratford, to the north by the Town of Colebrook, to the east by the unincorporated towns of Dixville and Odell and to the west by the beautiful Connecticut River.

According to the 2010 census, we have a full-time population of 798 people. Columbia consists of approximately 36,000 acres. Around 30,000 acres are enrolled in the State of New Hampshire’s Current Use program, which means that they are undeveloped. The remaining 6,000 acres has mainly single family homes, camps and second homes.

At the present time, we have around 30 small businesses in Town, many of which are “home” based. This number does include three family farms and four Christmas Tree plantations. Other businesses include a convenience store/gas station, a hardware store and a daycare center.

We do not have our own school. Instead we send our approximately 87 (2011-2012) school-age children to be educated either at the Colebrook Elementary School or Colebrook Academy under an AREA agreement. Bus transportation is provided by the Town to and from school. We are extremely proud of our students many of whom have furthered their education at colleges such as the University of New Hampshire, Virginia Tech, University of Virginia and St. Anselm College.

With an annual Town Budget of around $425,000.00 (fiscal year 2012), the Selectmen of Columbia work diligently to ensure that our tax rate is one of the lowest in the area.

With our low taxes, good schools, beautiful views and many recreation opportunities, we believe that Columbia is a wonderful place to live, work, raise a family and visit.


Upcoming Meetings

Office Hours

Columbia Town Office

10:00 am. to 4:00 pm on Monday through Thursday.

Transfer Station

Mon. Wed. Thur. 8-12
Tues. & Sun – Closed
Saturday – 8:00 to 12:00
Friday – 12:00 – 4:00