Board of Selectmen Minutes

Meeting began at 6:00 pm.  Present were Selectman Cloutier, Stohl and Campbell.  Town Treasurer, Carrie Klebe, was also present.

Ms. Klebe informed the Selectmen that she was working on getting her name added to the Town’s accounts at Bangor Savings Bank, Citizens Bank, and NHPDIP.  The Board signed necessary forms from Bangor Savings Bank.  She said that she hoped to have everything done by the next meeting and intended to do everything through QuickBooks on the office computer.  Ms. Klebe left the meeting at 6:10 pm.

The mail was reviewed.

Checks and manifests were reviewed and signed.

Intent to Excavate forms (4) was signed for Pike Industries.

An e-mail was received from the Dispatch Center stating that tomorrow night’s meeting had been canceled.

On a motion made by Selectman Stohl and seconded by Selectman Campbell, the Board approved the minutes of the March 25, 2020 meeting.

The Board reviewed ads that Marcia had prepared for requesting bids for the mowing of both the Town Hall and the Town Office and also for mowing the three cemeteries (Keach, Columbia Bridge and Lyman Falls).  Bids will be opened at the next meeting on April 22nd.

The Board discussed the recent Executive Order issued by Governor Sununu regarding property tax interest.  Marcia explained that the Tax Collectors’ Association was very concerned and had gotten a legal opinion from Attorney

Bernard Campbell.  Mr. Campbell informed the Association members that this was only an “authorization” and that he felt the Governor was referring to the upcoming July property tax bill. Marcia said that from what most Tax Collectors were saying, Towns were going to be reviewing this issue on a case by case basis.   After discussion, the Board decided to handle it on an individual basis if any of our taxpayers inquire about it.  Selectman Stohl said that the NHMA Board was having a “virtual” meeting tomorrow and it was on the agenda to be discussed.

Meeting adjourned at 7:10 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Marcia Parkhurst, Secretary

Board of Selectmen