Board of Selectmen Minutes

Meeting began at 6:05 pm.  Present were Selectmen Cloutier, Stohl and Campbell.  Members of the public present:  Planning Board Chairman Scott DeBlois, Tax Collector Garry Parkhurst and Noah Pollack (Vermont River Conservancy).

Mail was reviewed.

Checks and manifests were reviewed and signed.

Planning Board Chairman Scott DeBlois came to the meeting to discuss amendments to be voted on at Town Meeting.

Noah Pollack entered the meeting at 6:25 pm.  Mr. Pollack presented the Board with a deed to the small piece of property next to the Columbia Covered Bridge.  The Vermont River Conservancy will maintain an easement on the property.  Mr. Pollack showed the Board members a sample of a poster which they wish to display at the site explaining the history of the bridge.  The Board discussed with Mr. Pollack their intent to put an article on the warrant to rename the Lyman Falls site the “William Schomburg Memorial Recreation Site @ Lyman Falls.”  Mr. Pollack suggested that he could have a sign made and that perhaps this summer we could have a ceremony unveiling the new sign. He said that the Schomburg family is interested in still being active in maintaining the Lyman Falls site since it was so important to Mr. Schomburg.  Once, the sign is designed, Mr. Pollack will send a proof of it to the Board members for their input.  Mr. Pollack left the meeting.

A contract with Cloutier Sand & Gravel, Inc. was signed for snowplowing for the next three years.

The Board instructed Marcia to send a copy of the snowplowing bill for the Transfer Station to the Stewartstown Selectboard.

A letter from Fairpoint Communications was reviewed.  Marcia was instructed to forward the letter to George Sansoucy.

On a motion made by Selectman Stohl and seconded by Selectman Campbell the Board voted to approve the minutes of the January 24th meeting.

At 7:00 pm., the meeting was recessed in order for the Board to hold the annual budget hearing.

At 7:35 pm the regular meeting resumed.

Meeting adjourned at 7:38 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Marcia Parkhurst, Secretary

Board of Selectmen